Following its successful School Games debut in 2017, Cricket is returning to the competition in 2022 to give 39 players, who have been selected from eight Regional Academies, the chance to compete over three days of T20 competition.

The ECB will utilise the National School Games Finals as a key selection event for the U19s Women’s World Cup and we are looking forward to seeing the players test themselves over three days of T20 competition. 

Did You Know?

  • It is the inaugural U19’s T20 Women’s World Cup which will take place in January 2023 in South Africa.  The event will then run as a bi-annually.  
  • The teams that compete at the National School Finals are named after current England Internationals; Natalie Sciver, Katherine Brunt & Heather Knight.
  • Team Knight have never won the School Games National Finals; Team Brunt have three wins with Team Sciver taking the title in 2021.
  • Cricketing alumni from the National School Games Finals include Alice Capsey, Issy Wong, and Lauren Bell who are now all on Professional Women’s Domestic game contracts as part of the ECBs Regional Structure.
  • The Regional Structure, which was launched in 2020, is made of up eight senior sides who compete in the Charlotte Edwards T20 Cup and the Rachael Heyhoe Flint 50 Over Trophy.
  • Eight Regional Academies underpin the Senior sides and in October 2022, the Regional Structure is set to add a new layer of player development via the launch of 23 Emerging Player Programmes.